90’s

Chapter 5

Morning came. I thought it was morning, anyway. Who could know from inside of a padded cell? My head pounded, my stomach needed food, and I felt as if I were having another existential crisis. This was the story of my life. One existential crisis after another, all the while feeling worthless. I needed my medication. I begged for the skinny white man to open my door. I begged and begged but he didn’t come. He would never come. I began to hear “tick tock” in my head and searched every little crevice for a clock that didn’t exist. Maybe I am insane? I fell asleep again.

I woke up sometime in the void of heaven and earth. I was drooling but it wasn’t whatever dart they had shot me with before. My door swung open again. I could tell it was the same skinny guy, but this time he was wearing a bunny mask like my kidnappers (or so I thought my kidnappers were wearing masks).

“You got a bit rowdy Mr. Beer. You need to relax. Go get your meds and enjoy the rec room. Play nice with the rest of our guests. Be a gentleman. We left you a seat in the VIP section after you get your meds.” He was all business as usual with a bit of sternness in his voice. He made sure that I heard him this time. He came off as almost aggressive.

I got up by myself. No restraints this time. Dizziness flowed through my head, but I needed a drink, so I headed to the medical station.

“Ah, Mr. Beer…. the usual?” The bald man began to open the refrigerator.

“Yes. Please.” I must have sounded pathetic.

“You got it boss.” He handed me a beer. Ice cold, sweating in my hand. He let me hear the crack this time. I began to mingle a little. Crazy eyes playing checkers, the smoker amazed by the wall. There was a roped-off section in the corner near the window. A few people were there. They were dressed in all white, clearly more orderlies all grouped together. When I looked over sipping my beer, the lights dimmed in the rec room. There were some pink tinting lights shining on the orderlies. They all had bunny masks on. I can’t deal with this shit anymore. At least it’s interesting for once. I shuffled over, scratching my ass and in desperate need of a good piss. When I got up to the ropes none of them said anything. There were four of them.

“Well?” I said. “What the fuck is this? Is this a party or what? You bastards brought me here. I’m convinced that I am insane and have lost my shit. So, let’s have a beer. I feel like I fit right in here. I’ve adapted. Get me drunk, let me sleep, and let me mingle a little and play checkers. Maybe we can get some women in here? Wouldn’t that be nice assholes?” They said nothing. I began to feel dizzy and tired. I began to walk away, and it really hit me. Looking down on the floor I saw a note, again. I picked it up and it said, “You failed your rehabilitation Mr. Beer.” I blacked out.

Chapter 6 to be posted July 14 at 6 A.M.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started